Marty Rowley, the District 15 State Board of Education member, is an attorney and certified mediator from Amarillo.

A Republican, he was elected to the State Board of Education in November 2012 to an initial four year term on the board. Along with serving on the full board, Marty is the Chairman of the Committee on School Initiatives, which oversees Charter Schools. He has also been named as the Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee to develop a Long Range Plan for Texas public education.

Marty is accustomed to handling complex issues after spending more than 20 years as a Board certified attorney and seven years as a pastor at an 8,000 member church. Active in his community,Marty is the past president of the Maverick Boys and Girls Club of Amarillo; past president of the CareNet Pregnancy Centers of Amarillo; and past chairman of the Governmental Affairs Council of the Amarillo Chamber of Commerce.


He earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Eastern New Mexico University. He holds a law degree from the Texas Tech School of Law, where he was on the 1982 National Championship Trial Advocacy Team. Marty has been president of the West Texas Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates and has served on the Executive Committee of the Amarillo Area Bar Association.

Marty is also a member of the Texas State Bar Association, American Board of Trial Advocates, American Association of Attorney Mediators and the Texas Association of Mediators.

He and his wife Cindy have been married for 34 years, and have two sons and one daughter, who have all graduated from Texas public schools.

Marty represents the 77 counties of District 15, which includes: Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Borden, Briscoe, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Jones, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Mitchell, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Yoakum and Young.